Search Again

Parish History


St. Therese Church
Established 1947
800 households

By the end of the 19th century, the Catholic population of Branford's Stony Creek section consisted chiefly of a handful of Italian immigrants. At first, these immigrants worshiped in a hall built on Leete's Island Road by quarry owner John Beattie. Priests from St. George, Guilford, ministered to Stony Creek. A chapel on School Street eventually replaced the Beattie hall worship site and remained in use until 1927. Father John C. Fogarty of St. George then built a new church and rectory on Thimble Islands Road. Bishop John J. Nilan dedicated both in October 1928. On May 23, 1947, then Bishop Henry J. O'Brien made St. Therese mission a parish, which absorbed a parcel of territory from St. Mary parish that included the picturesque Thimble Islands. Father Francis Breen was appointed founding pastor. On August 31, 1968, the new St. Therese on Leete's Island Road was dedicated by Auxiliary Bishop John F. Hackett. In 1974, the old church on Thimble Islands Road was sold to the town.
 
St. Therese Church
105 Leetes Island Road, Branford CT 06405-3308
Telephone: 203-488-2998   Fax: 203-488-8542
Email: office@sttheresebranford.org
Deanery: East Shore Line
Vicariate: New Haven